Skip to main content

About

Special education services are available to students with disabilities who qualify for an Individualized Education Program (IEP). Each student’s program is individually determined to meet their unique needs in the least restrictive environment. Students receive special education services after all the resources of the general education program have been considered. After a student has been assessed, eligibility for special education services is determined by the Individualized Education Program (IEP) team of parents and professionals. Services include Specialized Academic Instruction (SAI) and related services such as speech and language, occupational therapy, and counseling, and more. Our administration, teachers, and staff are committed to ensuring that all students receive the services and support they need to access and progress in their education.

For additional questions, please contact our department.

Contact Information

Dr. Loretta Burns
Vice Principal/ Director of Special Education & Pupil Services
loretta.burns@theblueridgeacademy.com

Elisa Hendricks
Assistant Director - Special Education
elisa.hendricks@theblueridgeacademy.com

Erin Letham
Program Specialist Grade TK-2
erin.letham@theblueridgeacademy.com

Nicole Balogh
Program Specialist Grade 3-5
nicole.balogh@theblueridgeacademy.com

Mailelei Penn
Program Specialist Grade 6-8
maile.penn@theblueridgeacademy.com

Bethany Swanson
Program Specialist Grade 9-12
bethany.swanson@theblueridgeacademy.com

Jill Jaramillo
Program Specialist Moderate/Severe
jill.jaramillo@theblueridgeacademy.com